Tuesday, November 5, 2019

Save Rodney Reed From Execution

[TRIGGER WARNING: RAPE MENTION, ABUSE, POLICE BRUTALITY, RACISM]

Here's something you might not have heard about yet that you could actually help with. Rodney Reed, a black man, was charged with rape and murder and sentenced to death. According to a growing campaign to stop his execution, evidence that the real perpetrator was actually the victim's abusive fiance, a cop, was withheld from an all-white jury.

The website makes a compelling case, but if you have any hesitation, remember that capital punishment is inherently immoral, has killed innocent people in the past, and disproportionately targets black men. And it's just wrong for the state to kill people. Even if he is guilty, Reed should not be executed. But I don't think he is guilty.

You can go to the website for full instructions on how you can help. There's an easy online petition to sign, plus a long list of public figures you can contact. This includes calls as well as sending letters, which is a great option for those of us with phone anxiety. You can also send faxes for free to members of Congress and governors with faxZero.

Help save a man's life, feel good about yourself!

Here's a full list of people you could possibly contact in case you can't access the Free Rodney Reed website for some reason:

Governor's Office

Luis Saenz, Governor’s Chief of Staff:
(512) 463-1762
luis.saenz@gov.texas.gov

Kim Snyder, Governor’s Scheduler
(512) 463-7210
invite@gov.texas.gov

Jordan Hale, Administration Director
(512) 463-2000
jordan.hale@gov.texas.gov

Peggy Venable, Appointments Director
(512) 463-1828
peggy.venable@gov.texas.gov

Walter Fisher, Legislative Director
(512) 463-1830
walter.fisher@gov.texas.gov

Matt Hirsch, Communications Director
(512) 463-1826
Matt.hirsch@gov.texas.gov

John Colyandro, Sr Advisor and Policy Director
(512) 463-1762
John.Colyandro@gov.texas.gov

Sarah Hicks, Senior Advisor
(512) 463-1778
Sarah.Hicks@gov.texas.gov

Greg Davidson, Constituent Communications
(512) 463-1800
Greg.Davidson@gov.texas.gov

Jeff Oldham, General Counsel
(512) 463-1788


District Attorney Brian Goertz
(512) 581-7125 ( ask to withdraw petition to execute )


Members of the Board of Pardons and Paroles

David GutiƩrrez - Chair
254-865-8870 (Chairman's Office: 254-404-2701)

D'Wayne Jernigan
936-291-2161

Carmella Jones
979-849-3031

James LaFavers
806-359-7656

Brian Long
903-723-1068

Ed Robertson
512-671-2532

Fred Solis
210-564-3721


Staff at the Board of Pardons and Paroles

General email: bpp_pio@tdcj.texas.gov

Jessica Dillard - Board Administrator
(512) 406-5452/5453

Bettie Wells - General Counsel
(512) 406-5353 / (512) 463-1702

Rachel Alderete - Director of Hearing Operations
(512) 406-5452/5453

Raymond Estrada - Director of Public Information
(512) 406-5452/5453

Barry Bertocki - Clemency Director
(512) 406-5852

Veronica Muraira- Director of Administrative Support
(512) 406-5452/5453

Libby Hamilton - Victim Liaison
(512) 406-5833


Texas House Corrections Committee

Rep. James White - Chair
(409) 283-3700
James.White@house.texas.gov

Rep Alma Allen - Vice Chair
(713) 776-0505
Alma.Allen@house.texas.gov

Rep. Ernest Bailes
(936) 628-6687
ernest.bailes@house.texas.gov

Rep. Rhetta Bowers
(972) 272-6237
rhetta.bowers@house.texas.gov

Rep. Jay Dean
903-238-8452
jay.dean@house.texas.gov

Rep. Christina Morales
(512) 463-0732
christina.morales@house.texas.gov

Rep. Victoria Neave
(972) 288-9438
victoria.neave@house.texas.gov

Rep. Clark Sherman Sr.
(972) 227-1064
clark.sherman@house.texas.gov

Rep. Phil Stephenson
(281)232-7900
phil.stephenson@house.texas.gov

No comments: